Do They KNOW?

Every spring the chipmunks and squirrels divert sunflower seeds from the bird feeder and plant them in the garden beds and flower pots. I pull up a lot of the subsequent sprouts however a few make it through or I appreciate the placement and, in the fall a sunflower is born!

As you can see a space next to the trash & recycling bin sheltered this cheerful sunflower. A couple weeks later I came across this scene…

So the question that we toss around year after year is…do the critters plant seeds knowing that they are planting future food sources? or is it an accident? My husband is convinced that they have no idea they are planting future food, he thinks they are just setting aside seeds for later and this is a happy accident. I think…critters know setting these seeds aside will help them in the future and they do this by design. What do you think?

Let me know in the comments below.

  1. I was nervous because my dogs often reject crunchy snacks because they are missing teeth but these were welcome anyway!…

  2. I love seeing what everyone is baking:) Myles (miniature poodle) would love these. Of course he’s never met a treat…

  3. Yes, Indeed! And my husband has already started a list of peppers that we have not already stocked up on.…

Leave a comment